My New Year’s Revolutions

A major telecommunications company airs an ad featuring a man and several children. In this one, the topic of New Year’s comes up. One little fellow discusses his New Year’s Revolution, meaning resolutions.

Now I’m not one to make resolutions; I always break them, sometimes within days. I quit several years ago. However, the young lad caused me to think. I CAN make some revolutions. Here is my list:

I revolt against inequality. Not on a national level, but on a personal level. I revolt against my tendency to look down on some people. From this day on, I will do my best to smile at everyone as though they are my best friends – even the ones who are not particularly lovely.

I revolt against sin. Every time I am tempted to sin, I will revolt. I will do my best to live a sinless year.

I revolt against a feeling of failure. This is important because I know I will lose some battles in my revolution, especially the one just before this one. I revolt against a defeatist attitude. With the power of God, we will win all of these wars. It may take a while, but through Him all things are possible.

I revolt against evil. I will do my best to make war against any evil that enters my personal world. I define this world as anywhere I am at the time, and it encompasses all that I see, hear, feel, taste, or touch. If you are near me, even through these words, you are in my world.

I revolt against the devil. He is our enemy. He thinks he controls this world because God gave him dominion over it at one time. Now, however, Jesus rules this world; it is His footstool. I will do my part to end this spiritual war with total victory. I will do my best to follow the commands of my commander-in-chief because He knows how to fight these battles. I am but a foot soldier. I will obey to the best of my ability.

I revolt against disease. I’m neither a doctor nor a researcher, but I can do some small part in eradicating disease. I can fight it personally. I can make others aware of what they can do to eradicate it. That is why I write for MD Anderson, and why I support the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. That is why I encourage people to become tissue and bone marrow donors. I want cancer wiped from the face of the earth.

I suppose that is enough revolutions for one year. I encourage you to make your own list of revolutions. If you want to share them, post a response to this blog and share your revolutions. It may encourage others to enlist and help with YOUR revolution!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My New Year’s Revolutions

  1. Kellie Bramlet says:

    Great post, Harley! Thanks for mentioning MD Anderson.

Leave a Reply

