Cabin Fever

Some days just don’t seem worth the effort to wake up. Today was one of them.

I woke up at 4:00 AM to a whining dog. He was in cone-finement, because he could not resist licking/gnawing on his tail. We had warned him multiple times that he would get the cone if he continued his bad behavior. He did. We did. Don’t laugh. He is smarter than a three year old! He knew what would happen if he persisted. I took the cone off; he quit whining. I sat in my office recliner to read a bit and fell asleep after reading a page or two.

I woke up at 8:30 AM rather spacy and disoriented. I walked into the bedroom to find my half of the bed made and Melanie’s half occupied. “I fell back asleep,” she mumbled. I said I could do the same. I headed back to the office recliner and promptly fell asleep again.

I woke up at 9:30 AM. Still groggy. Still disoriented. “Are you hungry?” Melanie asked. I wasn’t really. I wanted a shower. That usually wakes me up. It didn’t.

At 9:45 AM, I sat down to a breakfast of scrambled eggs, toast with jam, and sausage links. Hey! I know it is not the healthiest meal, but five days a week it is either oatmeal or multi-grain cereal. Saturday is our real splurge days. Sunday we eat a single pastry and coffee before church. Well, Melanie does. I haven’t been to church since I began the most recent round of chemotherapy – too dangerous – no crowds permitted, doctor’s orders.

I was still groggy as I picked up the Weekend Magazine in the local paper. After skimming through the pages, I turned to the “Frame Game” page. We have a running competition to see who can solve the most puzzles. I lead by a wide margin. Not today. What I usually solve in one or two minutes evaded solution – at least for my fuzzy brain. “Zero for four today,” I mumbled. Melanie solved two with a few hints from me – those don’t count. She solved two on her own. She won.

I sat down to read. Deleted the book I started last night – didn’t like it. That’s the nice thing about free books on the Kindle. They don’t make me feel guilty if I don’t read them. Started another – deleted it as well. My fuzzy brain was not working so I took a nap – well, at least I closed my eyes, and though of this missive.

You probably think my brain is still somewhere in la-la land. You may be right.

Can one get cabin fever in the summer? I think I have it. Though I am not doing chemo now and my counts are good, Melanie won’t let me out of the house. She wants me to stay healthy for when MD Anderson calls us back for the clinical trial. It seems that I have been housebound except for medical expeditions for at least a year. It hasn’t really been that long, but I am feeling the effects.

I guess I will find a new book to read since this probably doesn’t make a lick of sense. Oh, well. Winter is on its way – someday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

